Tunisian Crocheted Cowl Scarf

BAT_2289.JPG

I can’t believe I’m just discovering tunisian crocheting!! Where has this been for the last however many years I’ve been crocheting?!?!

I originally started this scarf with a extra wide chunky scarf in mind, but quickly realized I wouldn’t be able to achieve that with one skein of yarn. So… cowl scarf it is!

The funny part is I’m currently in a small, beach town where the climate doesn’t really call for warm and fuzzy knitwear thus there is a lack of availability when it comes to knit and crochet materials. I had to get creative with making my own tunisian crochet hook. I simply just wound a rubber band around one end of a plastic crochet hook I brought (shown below).

I’m loving the way tunisian crochet looks! And I’m amazed at how fast the rows seem to get done!BAT_2112.JPG


Materials: 

  • K10.5 (6.5mm) crochet hook (tunisian or regular with a rubber band at the end)
  • 1 skein of Heartland from Lion Brand Yarn in beige (this will be the main color)
  • 1 skein of James C. Brett Marble yarn in MT 26 (this will be the contrasting color)

Abbreviations

  • tss
  • MC: main color
  • CC: contrasting color

Instructions

Co 35 onto crochet needle
R 1-4: tss with MC

R 5: tss with CC

Repeat rows 1-5 until you get the length you desire. (I did 16 of the 5 rows – 80 rows altogether).

Afterwards I crocheted a border with the CC.


And sew the ends together.


Here’s how I put in the triangles.

I threaded the yarn thru the bars of the Tunisian crochet.

I arranged my triangles so they looked like diamonds.

And voila! You’ve got yourself a tunisian crocheted cowl scarf.

BAT_2137.JPG

Leave a Reply

