Southwestern Cocoon Sweater

IMG_20170509_085936

BAT_5231

I was on Pinterest one day, pinning away when I came across Jessica’s link for a blanket sweater. I fell in love with it instantly and wanted to make one in my free time.

Shortly after, I came across Steph’s Southwestern Style Throw. Gorgeous design made in a corner to corner style with crochet.

Maybe a week later, I thought how amazing it would be if I could join these two projects together and make a Southwestern Cocoon sweater. So I took the measurements of the cocoon sweater and started brainstorming a design for a hybrid design. I made a little swatch, bumped up the size of the crochet hook from the throw (for a looser stitch) and decided on using a section of Steph’s design.

Since this was my first c2c project, everything was turning out disastrous. I kept making all sorts of mistakes: miscounting rows, forgetting to start a new color, etc. It got to the point where I had to frog half my work in order to correct a mistake… so I decided to make a simpler design using the same colors that would be easier for me to follow.

This project perfectly coincided with a road trip for my graduation (Yay!) so I had many hours where I could work on this while we took turns driving. I really like how it turned out, but there are definitely things I would change. It fits nicely and the looser stitch conforms to the body very well. The yarn is really soft and it’s a pleasure to wear.

If I made another one, some things I would change would be to only include the back design and forgo the designs that are in the front. I find them a little overwhelming.

Materials:

  • L-8mm crochet hook

Yarns (1 skein of each):

  • Loops & Threads Impeccable in Gold
  • Loops & Threads Impeccable in Navy
  • Loops & Threads Impeccable in Aran
  • Red Heart Super Saver in Ranch Red
  • Crafter’s Secret in Turquoise
  • I Love This Yarn in Burnt Pumpkin

- Stitch Fiddle (14)

Here’s how you fold it into a cocoon sweater…

Sew the flaps you folded down together leaving enough room for a hand/arm.

We didn’t get a good shot of the front of the sweater…

BAT_5180BAT_5224

Leave a comment